Called: P.4 (9.27.17)

2 Timothy 1:7-9 
[7] For God hath not given us the spirit of fear; but of power, and of love, and of a sound mind. [8] Be not thou therefore ashamed of the testimony of our Lord, nor of me his prisoner: but be thou partaker of the afflictions of the gospel according to the power of God; [9] Who hath saved us, and called us with an holy calling, not according to our works, but according to his own purpose and grace, which was given us in Christ Jesus before the world began,

Our call is not decided by us, it is discovered.

You are called to a purpose
You are called to people
You are called to a place
You are called to a problem
Your call requires that you press
Your call has a price

What are you willing to overcome to take the position God has called you to?

The opposition to your position is set by the enemy.

2 Timothy 2:3-4
[3] Thou therefore endure hardness, as a good soldier of Jesus Christ. [4] No man that warreth entangleth himself with the affairs of this life; that he may please him who hath chosen him to be a soldier.

There is no call that is not going to come with a price.

The attack that the enemy makes on your life is often in direct correlation to the call that is on your life.

2 Corinthians 12:1-4,7 
[1] It is not expedient for me doubtless to glory. I will come to visions and revelations of the Lord. [2] I knew a man in Christ above fourteen years ago, (whether in the body, I cannot tell; or whether out of the body, I cannot tell: God knoweth;) such an one caught up to the third heaven. [3] And I knew such a man, (whether in the body, or out of the body, I cannot tell: God knoweth;) [4] How that he was caught up into paradise, and heard unspeakable words, which it is not lawful for a man to utter. [7] And lest I should be exalted above measure through the abundance of the revelations, there was given to me a thorn in the flesh, the messenger of Satan to buffet me, lest I should be exalted above measure.

The messenger of Satan always attacks the assignment.

2 Corinthians 12:8-9
[8] For this thing I besought the Lord thrice, that it might depart from me. [9] And he said unto me, My grace is sufficient for thee: for my strength is made perfect in weakness. Most gladly therefore will I rather glory in my infirmities, that the power of Christ may rest upon me.

The battle keeps us humble in the victory.

2 Corinthians 12:10
[10] Therefore I take pleasure in infirmities, in reproaches, in necessities, in persecutions, in distresses for Christ’s sake: for when I am weak, then am I strong.

Matthew 16:13-17
[13] When Jesus came into the coasts of Caesarea Philippi, he asked his disciples, saying, Whom do men say that I the Son of man am? [14] And they said, Some say that thou art John the Baptist: some, Elias; and others, Jeremias, or one of the prophets. [15] He saith unto them, But whom say ye that I am? [16] And Simon Peter answered and said, Thou art the Christ, the Son of the living God. [17] And Jesus answered and said unto him, Blessed art thou, Simon Bar-jona: for flesh and blood hath not revealed it unto thee, but my Father which is in heaven.

The revelation of who you are is revealed in the revelation of who Jesus is.

Matthew 16:18
[18] And I say also unto thee, That thou art Peter, and upon this rock I will build my church; and the gates of hell shall not prevail against it.

The enemy will try to keep you from discovering a revelation of who Jesus is and who you are in Him.

Luke 4…the enemy tries to tell you there is another way to get what you have been called to.

Simon was the name of the person.
Peter was the name of the call.

Luke 22:21,23-24,31-32
[21] But, behold, the hand of him that betrayeth me is with me on the table. [23] And they began to enquire among themselves, which of them it was that should do this thing. [24] And there was also a strife among them, which of them should be accounted the greatest. [31] And the Lord said, Simon, Simon, behold, Satan hath desired to have you, that he may sift you as wheat: [32] But I have prayed for thee, that thy faith fail not: and when thou art converted, strengthen thy brethren.

Is 48:10…refining fire

God lets us go through things to refine us. Be He never leaves us. We come out stronger.

