The Power To Be Free: P.2 (10.1.17)

Philippians 3:13-14 
[13] Brethren, I count not myself to have apprehended: but this one thing I do , forgetting those things which are behind, and reaching forth unto those things which are before, [14] I press toward the mark for the prize of the high calling of God in Christ Jesus.

Isaiah 42:9-10
[9] Behold, the former things are come to pass, and new things do I declare: before they spring forth I tell you of them. [10] Sing unto the Lord a new song, and his praise from the end of the earth, ye that go down to the sea, and all that is therein; the isles, and the inhabitants thereof.

Biblically, “new” means “better”.

Isaiah 43:18-19
[18] Remember ye not the former things, neither consider the things of old. [19] Behold, I will do a new thing; now it shall spring forth; shall ye not know it? I will even make a way in the wilderness, and rivers in the desert.

You can be physically out of a situation, but if you’re not out of it mentally, it can still have a hold on you. A great example of this is found in Genesis 19. God told Lot and his wife to leave Sodom and Gomorrah because He was going to destroy it. They were physically out of the city, but because Lots wife was mentally not out, she looked back. And because of that, she experienced judgment.

Ps 103…remind yourself that you are forgiven
1 John 1:9

Stop letting your history define your destiny. God doesn’t hold your past against you. When you ask him to forgive you, He will. And He wont keep your sins in His mind to use against you in the future. He forgets them.

Isaiah 43:25
[25] I, even I, am he that blotteth out thy transgressions for mine own sake, and will not remember thy sins.

The only way your past can affect your future is if you choose not to let go of it.

Exodus 5:1-2,5-7
[1] And afterward Moses and Aaron went in, and told Pharaoh, Thus saith the Lord God of Israel, Let my people go, that they may hold a feast unto me in the wilderness. [2] And Pharaoh said, Who is the Lord , that I should obey his voice to let Israel go? I know not the Lord , neither will I let Israel go. [5] And Pharaoh said, Behold, the people of the land now are many, and ye make them rest from their burdens. [6] And Pharaoh commanded the same day the taskmasters of the people, and their officers, saying, [7] Ye shall no more give the people straw to make brick, as heretofore: let them go and gather straw for themselves.

Sin becomes harder once you’ve heard the gospel. A life of bondage becomes harder once you’ve heard the message of your freedom.

Exodus 6:7-9
[7] And I will take you to me for a people, and I will be to you a God: and ye shall know that I am the Lord your God, which bringeth you out from under the burdens of the Egyptians. [8] And I will bring you in unto the land, concerning the which I did swear to give it to Abraham, to Isaac, and to Jacob; and I will give it you for an heritage: I am the Lord . [9] And Moses spake so unto the children of Israel: but they hearkened not unto Moses for anguish of spirit, and for cruel bondage.

The Israelites had experienced so much hardship, it was hard for them to believe in their freedom. They were hardened to it.

Hebrews 3:8,15
Hebrews 4:7
Don’t have a hard heart

Once you are free, your whole outlook changes.

Anyone can live in bondage but it takes the power of God to live free.

Exodus 14:11-16
[11] And they said unto Moses, Because there were no graves in Egypt, hast thou taken us away to die in the wilderness? wherefore hast thou dealt thus with us, to carry us forth out of Egypt? [12] Is not this the word that we did tell thee in Egypt, saying, Let us alone, that we may serve the Egyptians? For it had been better for us to serve the Egyptians, than that we should die in the wilderness. [13] And Moses said unto the people, Fear ye not, stand still, and see the salvation of the Lord , which he will shew to you to day: for the Egyptians whom ye have seen to day, ye shall see them again no more for ever.[14] The Lord shall fight for you, and ye shall hold your peace. [15] And the Lord said unto Moses, Wherefore criest thou unto me? speak unto the children of Israel, that they go forward:[16] But lift thou up thy rod, and stretch out thine hand over the sea, and divide it: and the children of Israel shall go on dry ground through the midst of the sea.

God will lock you out of your past.

Returning to bondage is not freedom.

Don’t let your past creep up on you and lure you back into something God has brought you out of.

Sometimes it’s hard to walk in something new when you only know what has been. But you can’t view your future through the lens of your past. God wants to do a new thing.

Don’t make a permanent decision over a temporary situation.

