The Power To Be Still: P.2 (10.22.17)

Psalm 46:10-11 KJV
[10] Be still, and know that I am God: I will be exalted among the heathen, I will be exalted in the earth. [11] The Lord of hosts is with us; the God of Jacob is our refuge. Selah.

It is important to live with a Selah mindset.

Do we give God a time to speak? Or are we too busy?
In our families, work, ministry, lives, etc… we must make time to hear from God. Schedule it.

Matt 14:23
Mark 1:35
Mark 6:31,46-47
Luke 5:16

Is 53…Jesus opened not His mouth

2 Samuel 5:17-20,22-25 KJV
[17] But when the Philistines heard that they had anointed David king over Israel, all the Philistines came up to seek David; and David heard of it , and went down to the hold. [18] The Philistines also came and spread themselves in the valley of Rephaim. [19] And David enquired of the Lord , saying, Shall I go up to the Philistines? wilt thou deliver them into mine hand? And the Lord said unto David, Go up: for I will doubtless deliver the Philistines into thine hand. [20] And David came to Baal-perazim, and David smote them there, and said, The Lord hath broken forth upon mine enemies before me, as the breach of waters. Therefore he called the name of that place Baal-perazim. [22] And the Philistines came up yet again, and spread themselves in the valley of Rephaim. [23] And when David enquired of the Lord , he said, Thou shalt not go up; but fetch a compass behind them, and come upon them over against the mulberry trees. [24] And let it be, when thou hearest the sound of a going in the tops of the mulberry trees, that then thou shalt bestir thyself: for then shall the Lord go out before thee, to smite the host of the Philistines. [25] And David did so, as the Lord had commanded him; and smote the Philistines from Geba until thou come to Gazer.

The way you are assured victory is to always be sensitive to the Spirit and seek the Lord. Even if He gave you a victory in the past, each new situation requires a fresh word from God. He more than one way of doing something.

Don’t go where the Lord isn’t leading.
Don’t walk down paths that the Lord has not paved.

God doesn’t have to use large exaggerated events to speak to us. He speaks in a still quiet voice. We must make time for Him to hear it.

You hear God’s voice when you are still and quiet.

God will not only tell you where to go, but the pace at which you need to go.
Go down the right path at the right pace.

Amos 3:3…can two walk together except they be agreed?

Gal 5:17

You can’t walk in the Spirit of you do not agree with the Spirit.

The way you agree with the Holy Spirit is to agree with His Word.

Spend time seeking direction from the Lord. God will not scream over the crowds. You have to separate yourself from the crowd and get in a place to hear from Him.

Psalm 23:1-6 KJV
[1] The Lord is my shepherd; I shall not want. [2] He maketh me to lie down in green pastures: he leadeth me beside the still waters. [3] He restoreth my soul: he leadeth me in the paths of righteousness for his name’s sake. [4] Yea, though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil: for thou art with me; thy rod and thy staff they comfort me. [5] Thou preparest a table before me in the presence of mine enemies: thou anointest my head with oil; my cup runneth over. [6] Surely goodness and mercy shall follow me all the days of my life: and I will dwell in the house of the Lord for ever.

Its hard to get sheep to lay down because it is hard for them to get up. If there is any fear or anxiety in the flock, they will not lay down. Also, because of the position of their nostrils, its dangerous for them to drink from running water. They are in danger of drowning. The 23rd Psalm is written from the perspective of a shepherd caring for his flock. God will remove anything that is giving us anxiety because He wants us to be able to lay down and rest with no fear. He leads us beside still waters.

 

